links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Keeping lambs for meat
Page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Author 

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 06 2:32 pm    Post subject: Keeping lambs for meat Reply with quote

Being a complete newbie to sheep I wondered if you could help me. I would like to keep a couple of lambs for meat, but would like to know more and the costs involved, like ...

How long do you keep the lambs before slaughter?
How much does it cost to feed them for this time and what do they eat (apart from grass)?
How much meat do you actually get i.e. we are 2 adults, if we ate lamb 1/2 times a week how long would it last us? How many chest freezers would it fill?
How much would two lambs cost?
Depending on how long you keep them, what are the chances of having to trim feet or deal with maggots etc?

Many thanks and any other help gratefully received too.

Hannah

tahir

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 06 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd be interested too. I'm not interested in rearing them, just buying some in and fattening up over summer. It's a 3 acre field that I'll probably fence with electrics. I've been told that I could keep up to 20 in there depending how long I keep them for.

Rob R

PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 06 3:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Keeping lambs for meat Reply with quote

How long do you keep the lambs before slaughter?
How much does it cost to feed them for this time and what do they eat (apart from grass)?

Up to you really, a lamb can be finished by four months of age, but requires intensive creep feeding. The other extreme is a two year old hogget fed only grass (and maybe some hay in the winter)

How much meat do you actually get i.e. we are 2 adults, if we ate lamb 1/2 times a week how long would it last us? How many chest freezers would it fill?