Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Lard for soap

Author 

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 05 9:19 am    Post subject: Lard for soap Reply with quote

After making our sausages, we were left with some spare belly fat. So I rendered it, filtered it, bottled it, and plan to use it for soap.

Current plan is 250g pork fat, 250g olive oil, 250g coconut oil, and flavouring it with elderflowers, lots of which I'll add at trace.

Opinions anyone?

judith

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 05 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was going to ask the very same question as I seem to have a mini rendering plant up and running at the mo.
Is lard a suitable fat for a total beginner to use?

cab

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 05 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used animal fats before, but they tend to give a wee bit less foam; I've made some lovely goose fat soap, but never lard. Ought to be fine, though; my books tell me it'll give a hard-ish soap, but less hard than tallow, which is why I thought I'd add some coconut oil.

But lard soap is a new one for me. I'll be asking my soap guru this weekend about it.

judith

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 05 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Keep us posted then.

If a lard-based soap is less foamy, presumably that would make it suitable to use as the base for a clothes-washing soap for use in an automatic washing machine. Or would I still end up with foam all over the kitchen floor?

cab

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 05 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Judith wrote:
Keep us posted then.

If a lard-based soap is less foamy, presumably that would make it suitable to use as the base for a clothes-washing soap for use in an automatic washing machine. Or would I still end up with foam all over the kitchen floor?