Home Page
   Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Starting up a Meadery & using crowd-funding

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Downsizer Forum Index -> Small Business Questions, Ideas and Advice
Author 

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 14 1:21 pm    Post subject: Starting up a Meadery & using crowd-funding Reply with quote

Hey there,

I've not posted in a while (and in fact I normally was a lurker anyway) but I hope it's not too cheeky for my first post back to be a selfish post trying to boost visibility of my start up business.

I'm setting up a Meadery in Berkshire. I've got a premises, I'm starting kitchen renovations and I'm going through all the local council & licensing paperwork. More importantly I've been making mead for >10 years at home and all taste testing research has been overwhelmingly positive.

To avoid fighting with banks for commercial loans for a brand new business I have instead started a kickstarter campaign at https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sedgwick-meads/sedgwick-meads-moving-the-meadery-beyond-the-home
It would be lovely if you'd back me, and if you can't/won't then it'd be lovely if you'd share the URL to other mead fans.

However, and most importantly, if you are a mead fan then it'd be wonderful if you checked out the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/SedgwickMeads and stayed in touch for when we'start production & retail.

Thanks,
Nikki

dpack

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 14 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

good luck,anything that encourages more hives is a good thing

Lorrainelovesplants

PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 14 9:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, Id like to know a bit more about kickstarts or crowdfunding.

My Spotty Dog Cider is going from strength to strength, but after the new build and buying more fermentation vessels and a pump Ive run out of money I can invest in.