links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
The logistics of becoming a downsizer.
Page 1, 2  Next

Author 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 08 5:33 pm    Post subject: The logistics of becoming a downsizer. Reply with quote

Hi there, I'm a belated starry eyed convert. I've just finished watching the River Cottage series and I have discovered a dream I didn't know I had. I've lived in the country before when I was a kid, but agriculture in Saskatchewan (Canada) is much different then the life of a smallholder, and it didn't much appeal at the time.

That said, I was hoping someone can share a story or two with me, and perhaps even some advice. I'll outline my situation:

I'm a Canadian/UK citizen living in Canada with my wife, a Canadian. We want to get out of Canada, to move somewhere sunnier - I'm thinking the south of Spain or France myself. I'm a professional computer programmer with about 17 years of experience, and she's a newly minted X-Ray tech, so, with luck we can both work just about anywhere.

What we both really want to happen is to get a smallhold somewhere near a town, near the ocean with some nice land. We need to be able to afford this, and my wife has to be able to work locally. I guess I have a couple questions, since I am a complete noob.

1 - How prevalent is barter? I've got extremely valuable skills, but they're very specialized. I'd rather not be commuting from my smallhold, that's kind of beside the point, so I'm trying to figure out if I can make the life of a remote contractor work.

2 - Anyone doing the smallholder thing in southern France or Spain as a native English speaker? Is it possible? I can easily pick up Spanish or French again, but my wife is terrified of having to learn a new language to survive.

3 - Any suggestions as to where? We want to be near the ocean, have sunny, hot weather, and fairly low cost of living. I know, hard to get.