Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Finance and Property
Mary-Jane

Advice on buying a storage container please

Gervase and I are going to be clearing out our barns for development (at last) and although a lot of stuff can be chucked/recycled/sold/given away etc, we still have the problem of what to do with the stuff that we need but haven't got a place for yet until the barns and the house are all finished.

We're looking into investing in a shipping container and although we're well aware that we can get a standard 2nd/3rd hand 20'x8' container for about £500 or so, we still have the problem of transporting it up here which would be expensive.

We've had an offer of a good condition 2nd-hand one locally, from someone we know well, for about £900, including delivery and VAT (which we can claim back as we're VAT registered).

Does that sound like a good deal? I have no knowledge of these things whatsoever and since we need to store things that must stay in good condition (furniture, books etc) I'm keen not to engage in a false economy and end up havig all our belongings ruined for the sake of saving a couple of hundred quid on a storage unit.

Any comments on experience welcomed and appreciated.
Went

We stored for a while during the relocation. The main issue is damp and airing your items - as dry as possible is a must and regular airing of the container seemed to help. Labelling boxes as well if you have smalls to store. If you go for a container it needs a decent clearance from the ground and away from trees (falling leaves that stay and rot on top).

And when you are done.....1001 uses for a container that size Wink

Commercial storage could also be an option and possibly cheaper depending on timescale - but check out insurances.
Rob R

Our neighbour has just bought a 44ft aluminium one for £1000- not sure if that includes delivery or not, but it is in very good condition.
Went