Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Energy Efficiency and Construction/Major Projects
Lorrainelovesplants

anyone here an architect?

Looking for some advice......
Hairyloon

Often think I should've been. It looks like money for jam. Confused
Behemoth

No, but what do you need to know....
Lorrainelovesplants

its quite complicated.
Rusticwood

Don't do it.

After looking at many plans I can safely say they mess things up Wink Laughing
stumbling goat

Ask anyway.

It may not be as complex as you believe?

sg
Hairyloon

its quite complicated.

Many things which appear complicated are Just a bunch of simple things put together in a complicated looking way. Confused
vegplot

I have an MSc. in Architecture but am no architect.
stumbling goat

its quite complicated.

Many things which appear complicated are Just a bunch of simple things put together in a complicated looking way. Confused

Succinctly put.

Go on. Put it. You know you want to!

sg
Lorrainelovesplants

Okay..............

We want to build a first floor extention onto our existing garage conversion (done all legal like).
To get the height we are thinking either a hipped extention or a mansard.

The trick is tying it in to the existing apex of the main bungalow.

here are some piccies.....

Click to download file
Sorry...one came out twice - couldnt get rid of it....

Ty Gwyn

Is the extention to be where the conservatory is now? onemanband

I can picture it but hard to explain.
If garage extension (loft type room ?) is a pitched roof on either side with a flat top (approx 4 foot?) all you have to do is raise one side of house gable (in brickwork) so it is level with existing ridge and build short garage wall up to create a part gable.