Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Livestock and Pets
Lorrainelovesplants

Bloated lamb

Any ideas to deal with lamb with bloated tummy. he was fine yesterday morning, but off food last night. His sides are distended, but he is drinking water. The other lamb with him is fine.
He is about 6 weeks old and has no other symptoms. feels like gas or wind. He is trying to scratch his tummy with his back hooves.
Obviously guts his milk yesterday morning...
Any ideas anyone?
Mary-Jane

I'm afraid I'm not an expert Lorraine (in spite of being a sheep keeper) and Gervase (who is far more knowledgeable on these matters) is not around today for me to ask - one of the VSS crew would be a good person to ask though. Why don't you PM them?

I don't want to sound all gloom and doom, but we had a lamb that had exactly the same thing a couple of years ago and sadly it died within a couple of days. Sad I hope that's not the case with yours.

Have you had a look on the DEFRA site for possible answers?
Marionb

It sounds as if this is a bottle fed lamb, Lorraine?

Also sounds as if he's got wind, which is why he's kicking his tummy - its painful. I would get some liquid paraffin into him - use a syringe to dose him.
Lorrainelovesplants

Was also thinking of the liquid paraffin thing.
Thanks guys.
Spoke to the neighboring sheep farmer who agreed it was probably wind and said if it dies Ill give you another one. All heart.
VSS

Could be all manner of things. Impossible to say without seeing the animal, or knowing a bit more about its history.
A few points though: