Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Reviews and What's On
cassy

Book: How to spin just about anything

A member of our Weavers, Spinners, Dyers Guild, Janet Renouf-Miller, has written a new spinning book called "How to spin just about anything", published by LILI. Janet is a great teacher and that really comes through in the book. It's written in a very up-beat, supportive way that inspires a lot of confidence in the reader. My favourite quote is "twirl, stop and draft: you don't need to do it all at the same time", the perfect antidote to the beginner's feeling of not having enough hands!

I've been spinning for a couple of years but I found lots to get my teeth into in the book, like throwing the spindle off the thigh, kicking the spindle and different plying techniques. It seems to comprehensively cover spinning with a drop spindle and wheel as well as preparing fibre and finishing yarn. I've not read the wheel sections in depth but have been told by a new spinner that they were the best instructions she had found so far. There are 34 pages on using a spindle and 55 about using a wheel; the remainer of instructions being applicable to both. There is a lot packed in and using a spindle definitely wasn't treated as a second rate method as it is in other books. There's a full list of the topics covered on her website as well as a copy of all of the photos from the book.