Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Grow Your Own
chez

Courgette-based world take-over plan

Can I train my courgette plants to go upwards? I have never tried it before.
NorthernMonkeyGirl

I'm doing it with squash, so I don't see why not. Just don't let the courgettes get too big/heavy?
marigold

Yes. I always grow Black Forest which is sold as a climber though you need to tie it in, it doesn't support itself. I use strips of old T-shirt material to tie it up as they have a bit of give in them and don't cut into the stem. I grow mine* on a tripod of 3 canes or at the end of a row of runner bean canes. If you have a suitable fence it could be trained up the fence to a suitable height then run horizontally.

*One plant which will easily yield 30+ fruits - more than enough for me to cope with in the season!
joanne

Yes. I always grow Black Forest which is sold as a climber though you need to tie it in, it doesn't support itself.

Ahhh that will be why mine has been trying to take over the raised bed rather than climbing nicely up it's poles I put in for it!
chez

Thank you! Perhaps I can incorporate this is to my Duck Fencing Plan - grow them along the non-duck side of the fence and train them along it ...

ETA: Not this year, obviously.

*starts thinking about strawberries*
marigold

Yes. I always grow Black Forest which is sold as a climber though you need to tie it in, it doesn't support itself.

Ahhh that will be why mine has been trying to take over the raised bed rather than climbing nicely up it's poles I put in for it!

Depending on how far it's got, it may be better to move the poles and start training it from the current growing point rather than trying to hoist the whole plant up. You can trim off tatty old leaves to make space around the older part of the stem in the raised bed.