Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Make Your Own/DIY
Piggyphile

Drop Spindles

I have been looking at the wonderful drop spindles on Bodrighy's website and there are lots of different ones. I have never used one before. Which would be the best type to start with? The Tibetan one with bowl looks lovely but ease of use has to be my priority.
Bodrighy

This is based on which I sell most not on my experience as a spinner mind. No doubt some of the experts on here can help you more but the ones that seem to be used most by the novices seem to be the basic ones like these, either top or bottom whorls.

Top spindle

Bottom Spindle
mochyn

Piggyphile: do you have anyone to teach you? Go with whichever they're happy with. Other than that I'd say either of the ones Pete has shown is good. Those are definitely the easiest styles to start with. I've got several of his spindles Embarassed
Piggyphile

I have a friend who might know how, I will ask her next time I meet up. The simple ones do look good. With winter coming it will be good to do something crafty in the evenings. Crochet is another option.
Thanks
Bodrighy

I have a friend who might know how, I will ask her next time I meet up. The simple ones do look good. With winter coming it will be good to do something crafty in the evenings. Crochet is another option.
Thanks

Do the hooks as well LOL. Be careful, there are so many fabric crafts you could end up addicted

Pete
Mistress Rose

As a spinner, I would go with the simple ones Pete showed. They are the real drop spindles. My preference is for a bottom whorl, but I know a lot of people like the top ones these days; no idea why.

The main thing is to go slowly. Card or tease out the wool, hold it over the back of your hand, and pull out a length between your hands, then let the spin run up into that while keeping the back hand from letting the spin get into the main part of the unspun wool.