Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Welcome
MullersLaneFarm

Greetings from Illinois, USA

Hey all!,
Followed a link from my Yahoo group to the "Making Soap from Woodash Lye". Had to register to see it ... so here I m.

Wonderful article! Love the pictures. I've made potash (lye from hardwood ash) and have made soap from it. I've seen so many articles about potash soap that was full of misinformation and was tickled to see one that is correct! Kudos to the author!

A bit about me. We have lived on our current homestead for 10 years now, but did most of the things we do now in a more urban setting for years before finding our place.

I've been making soap since 1999. I am an avid fiber artist that spins, knits, crochets, weaves, tats, and other needle arts. My husband is a blacksmith, wood worker, leather worker, tailor and jack of all trades.

We raise 100% of our meat (beef, pork & various poultry), eggs, herbs & honey. We used to have a Jersey milk cow when we had children at home. Made a lot of butter & cheeses back then. We raise or barter for 100% of our vegetables and about 50% of our fruit. I'm an avid canner & dehydrator.

We heat primarily with wood, although we do have a furnace, it is set at 50*F. I have a wood cookstove that I used for one year, but the firebox wasn't large enough to heat the home. It is in storage until we can build a non-electric summer kitchen, complete with a hand pump for water.

It warms my heart to see folks across the pond with the same interests as my family. I'll probably lurk for a while until I am comfortable.

p.s. Most of Illinois, USA is NOT like Chicago!!! Surprised
sean

Welcome aboard. Very Happy
Jamanda

Hello hello2
12Bore

Hello, and welcome to DS! hello2
T.G

Hiya & welcome, from the Peak District National Park, pretty central, kind of bang in the middle of the UK Very Happy