Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Grow Your Own
sgt.colon

Heated propagator

I received a heated propagator for my birthday. I'm going to use it to get my chili's on the go a little early.

Now I have never used one of these before and was wondering if I just leave it on all the time or do they get to a certain temperature and then turn themselves off? Do I need to be regulating it? That sort of thing.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks. Smile
tahir

They generally have a thermo in them so cut out once they've reached a certain temperature and cut back in when necessary. I've never found it necessary to use a heated propogator for chillies though
sgt.colon

Thanks Tahir.

Do you start your chili's in Jan/Feb? Where do you put yours to propagate?
tahir

Thanks Tahir.

Do you start your chili's in Jan/Feb? Where do you put yours to propagate?

Feb is good, unless you're going to keep them indoors. Start too early and the plants will get leggy and weak before you plant them out.

I just put them in an unheated propogator on a sunny windowsill. I think some varieties (the habaneros and fancier ones) will benefit but not stuff that I generally grow.
sgt.colon

Then I'll start in Feb and see how I get on.

I tried that last year but my success rate was very poor verging on non existent, that's why I thought a heated one would give me more hope of getting some chili's.
tahir

I tried that last year but my success rate was very poor verging on non existent, that's why I thought a heated one would give me more hope of getting some chili's.

OK, is your house particularly cold?
sgt.colon

No not really. My bog standard propagators sit on a windowsill that gets the sun all afternoon and there is a radiator just below them but last year out of about 40 seeds I think I got 2 plants which then didn't really do anything. Laughing tahir

Hmm, what compost? I assume it was a lidded propogator? sgt.colon