Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Welcome
sarahp1

Hello from a growing enthusiast

Hello to everyone... stumbled across your group on account of Mochyn's Old Chap's article on his Gravity fed irrigation system. I am making plans to set up something similar for my polytunnel.
I am a dabbler... have an allotment where I grow pretty much everything I eat (although I've never succeeded in growing enough carrots nice enough for eating AYR), poltunnel, 2 bee hives... and always up for a new project. I've been experimenting over the past few years with preserving and home brewing - aiming for variety and trying to make what can be eaten in a year (after a few false starts and a gallon of Rhubarb chutney). I studied agricultural science (plant breeding specifically) at uni and am stilling figuring out how to transfer that knowledge into practical growing, but I can put money on knowing as much if not more useless information about strawberries than anyone on earth Smile Current hype in my little world is around biodynamics (which I am hoping to go out to NZ to study soon), mushroom growing and foraging (been turning the internet upside down trying to source porcini/cepe spawn), successional and companion planting. Favourite product for the small holder: Nemaslug, Most exciting veg in my garden: def. the asparagus though the most successful has to go to the broccoli which I have had heading now since May last year and still going Smile.
Looking forward to getting you know you all. Sarah
Chez

Welcome! wave
sarahp1

ty Chez
NorthernMonkeyGirl

hiiiii Smile

Funnily enough I am venturing into biodynamics myself. I've yet to be convinced of the descending moon's effect on turnips, but I needed some kind of planting calendar, so why not?

Be interesting to see what you come up with!

As for strawberries - I had two alpine ones trying to ripen just before Xmas, is that normal? Laughing
sarahp1