Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Welcome
Thoreau

Hello from Thoreau in Rutland

Hello Folks. I've been visiting this sight on and off for a couple of years and thought it was time to make a contribution. My wife and I live in a rented cottage overlooking Rutland Water with a large garden. Lovely and quiet, pitch black at night, the milky way easily visible on a clear night.
This coming year some of the garden is going over to food production - the compost has been 'brewing' for 6 months ready for it, and a greenhouse will be purchased soon. I love cycling (slowly) around the lanes and am always on the lookout for anything free to eat. Lots of fungi here, even a crop of St George's Day mushrooms which come up on the front lawn in early May. We are lucky to have some walnut trees which were very prolific last year.
I look forward to spending more time on this site, there really is so much here.
tahir

Walnuts? That's good going, is it a regular crop? (Welcome on board)
gil

Hi there, and welcome to Downsizer. Glad you've decided to join and start posting. Very Happy
judith

Welcome to Downsizer. Your cottage sounds idyllic.
sean

Welcome aboard. Very Happy
nettie

Hello!
mochyn

tahir wrote:
Walnuts? That's good going, is it a regular crop? (Welcome on board)

ther, you see, Thoreau? You already know the buzz words. In Tahir's case, "nuts".

And croeso.
Nicky cigreen

welcome Smile
AnnaD

Hello Smile
Went

Welcome - Lucky you, Rutland is lovely. I have spent many a happy hour cycling around Rutland.
gz

Real dark and quiet nights....heaven Cool
gardening-girl

Sounds wonderfull!
Hello from Somerset.
chicken feed

Very Happy hi neighbour from the flat fens of cabridgeshire we come out your way on a regular basis to go the melton market.
Thoreau

Thanks for all the greetings!