Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Welcome
PickSarah

Hi guys. Complete noobie here!

Hi all, ok so I don't have any pets (landlord says no Sad ) or live stock. I live in a flat above a shop. I have never foraged and haven't fished since I was a little girl. I know nothing of going on a shoot nor have I tried much game.

So what am I doing here?

I want to learn and I'm enthusiastic and eager!

Saturday is my birthday and I plan to spend some of it at Formby Point, Merseyside (treat to myself), at the very least searching for Razor Clams (from what I've read on this site I'm not holding my breath, but dammit I'm looking anyway!)

I would love to be able to forage for anything and everything in my local area. If only I could identify the things that are available! I plan to fill my roof garden (lol) with pots once I know what I can grow in them! I love food and love to cook.

I've really enjoyed reading both the articles and posts on this site and I'm jealous of the lifestyles many of you have. But I also appreciate the hard work that must come with it. Most of all I appreciate all you guys have to teach and the information DS and its users offer.

So thank you for everything I've read so far and everything I'll learn in the future.
gil

Hi there. and welcome to Downsizer !

It'll be spring soon - time for nettle-tops, wild garlic, and ground elder ! Foraging is great - is amazing how much stuff there is out there.
PickSarah

Hi gil. Nettle tops and wild garlic I'm excited about, even if they both seem to be a bit marmite ish with some people from what I've read. Ground elder I know nothing about. But I'll keep learning!
pookie

Hi there PickSarah and welcome to Downsizer!

Are you going to Freshfields? I used to take my children to the beach there, and spot the red squirrels!

I hail from near you, just south of Preston, now in Mid Wales Smile
PickSarah