Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Small Business Questions, Ideas and Advice
sally_in_wales

Marketing advice

Marketing advice needed. How do you promote your services & products to possible clients without seeming pushy or unpracticed at marketing?

This has come up beause we've just been booked for a whole 5 days worth of work by a fairly local museum that we hadn't ever approached before. They found us almost by accident, but its clear we can be of mutual benefit to each other hopefully beyond this project. I'd really like to make contact with some more possible organisations within sensible travelling distance, and just let them know or remind them that we exist and outline very briefly what we can do and how flexible we are, but I'm really not sure what the best mechanism is for doing this.

I'm not very good with phones, so would prefer to write, but how not to look like yet more junk mail?

If I can come up with a fairly widely applicable letter I can send it to a number of places at once, but how long should it be, how focussed should I be on one specific part of what we offer in an attempt to promote one type of work, or is it better to outline the wider scope of what we do and see if we fit a gap for them?
Mary-Jane

How about a self-produced/printed A5 'brochure' (no more than one or two sheets of A4 folded in half) of the sort of things you can offer? Then you can pop it in the post with a covering letter saying "...and I have enclosed details of all the others services/packages/whatever than we can offer which we'd be happy to discuss with you, alongside your particular needs, in person..."

Or something like that. Websites are great - but sometimes, having a little hard copy brochure that you can pop in the post with a friendly covering note/letter can be preferable.
sally_in_wales