Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Livestock and Pets
Mutton

Mower for quad bike

We have quite a lot of reeds in our fields and have found that the spread can be contained by topping them off and also dumping mulch on them (aka feeding sheep hay and them dropping it all over the reeds).
We've bought scythes and find them good - but have not been doing nearly enough due to lack of time etc.

(We don't want to eradicate the reeds as they are a wild life shelter and also a windbreak for the sheep. We just want to control how many.)

Anyway, wondering about a mower to go behind the quad bike. One with a variable height, or can be quite a few inches above the ground. (Is topping off mower the right term?). Have heard of machinery with its own motor for towing behind a quad bike.

So was wondering if anyone has any experience of these? (Assuming they exist)
Any good?
Cost?
Hire?
gregotyn

I have no personal experience but exactly what you want is available with its own motor to drive it, and your quad tows it. I have seen them at agricultural shows I will ask the question at work, as we have lads on hill farms working here who I hope will know the names of the machines. Failing that if no one knows I will be going to the Spring fair and Garden festival at the Welsh showground in May.
Reeds may be significant as wild life shelters, but they also harbour the snail, Limnia trunculata, (I think thats how you spell it), which is part of the liver fluke life cycle; liver fluke being a serious problem in sheep. 'Topping' is the right term.
dpack

my only possible contribution is that sounds like a good swap Laughing
Mutton

Well, luckily we don't seem to have fluke in our sheep. The ones we've eaten have had fluke free livers. Thanks for the info though. (We have done the double whammy wormer and fluke treatment in years when the vet/farm supplier has said "lots of fluke about")