Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Small Business Questions, Ideas and Advice
pricey

Pork Pie's...

I have been asked if I would like to sell them at the Farmers Markets around here Shocked Shocked

I went to the local one today and got talking to this man called Paul who was selling Chicken sangers, loverly they were to had some for tea, and he asked me.

The thing is I have never done anything like this before, costing etc... Should I make my big one's and sell them in slices, quarters halves and a whole one, or should I try to make them smaller?

I know I have to cost them out, going to make one next week and do the sums.

How much would you lot pay for a slice of pie, or a whole one come to that? I have seen them at different markets and they all seem way to expensive for what they are.

Do you think I have bitten off more than I can chew?

Be honest now please.
sean

I *think* that you have to get your kitchen approved before you can sell cooked stuff at farmers' markets. Dunno how hard/easy that is.
Bebo

Better check out if there are any environmental health requirements if you are making them at home to sell. Think you might need to do a food hygiene course or something.

Editted to add: Looks like I double posted with Sean.
chez

I think the food hygiene thing is necessary. I'm not sure about the kitchen approval thing - when my Ma used to do it, they came round and checked every so often. Pookie or Mochyn would be the people to ask.

No, I don't think it's more than you can chew, at all. Pookie says it's MUCH more profitable to sell her cakes in slices rather than whole ones.

Perhaps PM her?
sean

gil would probably know too, since she runs one.
chez

That would seem logical Smile.
Behemoth

The hygiene thing is pretty straight forward, a standard kitchen is OK. Local env health will have leaflets and hopefully be helpful, ours were.
lettucewoman