Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Trading Post
MargieP

Spinning wheels and lace knitting

Hello I live in near High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. Im a lover of all things knitted, and in particular lace knitting. Ive had yarn and related notions either in my hands or nearby since I can remember, so its deep in my psyche to keep my hands busy all the time.

Im a newbie to spinning and would love to own my own wheel. Retail prices are too high for me, eBay prices fluctuate rather quickly and suppliers of 2nd hand wheels also ask high prices.

Does anyone have a nice, working wheel they want to part with to satisfy in their downsizing lifestyle? Also, any related spinning items like a lazy kate, niddy noddy, wool winders etc. I would be happy to discuss prices and collection with genuine people.

Many thanks

Margie Laughing
sally_in_wales

Welcome to Downsizer!

Are you keeping an eye on Ravelry too? The for sale boards over there often have wheels etc at good prices. With ebay, you can still get bargains but be very aware that there are a lot of decorative rather than functional wheels out there, I've helped at so many spinning weekends where someone has come along all hopeful with their 'new' wheel only to find whilst it goes round, it was never intended for real spinning.
sally_in_wales

might also be worth adding your general location to your profile too, always helps people work out whether you are close enough for loan equipment or an invite to the next fibre day or whatever Smile
wellington womble

Is there a spinning guild there still? I think there used to be one near Wycombe. I came across them at the county show, which will be on again at the end of August. They may be able to advise, or even hire or lend equipment.