Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Grow Your Own
Anazoth

Starting out

Hey everyone

I want to start growing a few bits and bobs as a hobby. The problem is that my garden is very small, it has a patch of soil probably around 4ft by 8ft which is covered in decorative stones. I was thinking of digging it up and putting down soil and planting a few things.

Have you any tips for this? is there a certain type of soil i should get? should i do any other prep work? Or would you suggest i start with plant pots?

Also what would you suggest for someone just starting out? Preferably stuff that is hard to kill since i am only a beginner Smile
Went

Hello and welcome.... Very Happy

Sounds like a plan - that size plot is fine and you'll be surprised what you can grow in a limited space and in pots. The soil might be compacted as its not been used for sometime by the sound of it.

Clear it, dig it, add manure or organic matter if you can get it or a bag of compost from the garden centre.

Don't forget veg can be grown in pots as well.
Mistress Rose

You can also make or buy planters to put down on hard areas. There are 'veg trug' type things which are raised above the ground, or ones to put at ground level like a small raised bed.

Otherwise, agree with Wentworth. You might find it worth while getting a few plants from friends rather than buying a packet of seeds if you can. Most people grow far too many cabbage, lettuce and other easily transplantable things in the spring.
Woodburner

Welcome!
Grow stuff you actually like, that grows well in our climate (generally the traditional stuff).
It's nicer to grow stuff that is harder to come by in the supermarkets, like the rarer specific variety potatoes, or stuff thats is nowhere near the quality you could get by growing your own, e.g. runner beans - always far too old when picked, actually most people pick their own too old as well! Confused