Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Livestock and Pets
Stacey

What should I feed my sheep in the snow?

I've upped the amount of nuts they're getting but will they eat hay? There's no grass here - all covered in snow - so should I be giving them something as well as the nuts? I've never done this before. The youngest is smashing all the ice on the troughs a couple of times a day so they've got water.
Rob R

Are they not digging? If they're not getting enough grass they'll eat hay but they should be getting all their energy needs from concentrates and just need forage to keep their guts working properly.
Stacey

They don't seem to be digging much. Mind you my neighbour only moved them yesterday so they'd be nearer for me to feed. Maybe it'll look different this morning. So, they should be able to get through the snow and get to the grass?
Rob R

Yeah, though it's best to offer some extra in this weather, just in case, but if they don't eat it they might be finding their own as they do seem to prefer even frozen grass to hay. Last year ours were lying on the silage and then going out to graze in the snow. Laughing
Stacey

Sheep are just bloody weird Very Happy
milkmaid

i'd back that up with a cystalx tub ,it helps with the energy and digestion
in parts of scotland now we are up to 50 cm of snow or deeper ,
Rob R

I'm using the Glenside seaweed and molasses tub for the first time this year from Ascott.
Stacey

Hm - the Gotlands have got a mineral lick but I guess I could get something for the Dorset's as well.
Nicky cigreen

you could give them shredded sugar beets - you have to mix it in advance with water. its cheap and fibre so keeps their gut good. and they love it.

my sheep refuse to eat hay. as they are not in lamb this year.. they will prolly get no other choices if we have snow...
Dogwalker

My neighbours bringing hay down for his sheep, but they're digging for grass as well.
Rob R