Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> The Apiary
Boris

Why does my smoker keep going out!

I have been beekeeping for three years and still cant keep my smoker alight! I have tried dried grass, newspaper and smoker fuel and it just goes out shortly after I shut the lid! Clearly a lack of oxygen but where am I going wrong! I have tried less fuel....different fuel, more fuel, pumping it more...you name it! Mad Any suggestions as to where I am going wrong?
joanne

I have the same problem - I've found the only thing that really works is the corregated cardboard packaging that you get from Thornes - I've started using thinly cut up corregated cardboard to try and simulate it
Tavascarow

I use Hessian,
Burns well.
Make sure it's untreated.
The stuff upholsterers use has been treated with a fire retardant.
A lot cheaper than the corrugated cartridges & you can cut as much as you need.
chez

Scrunched up old egg boxes and keep pufferating it like mad.
Tavascarow

Chez wrote:
Scrunched up old egg boxes and keep pufferating it like mad.

That's what I found with all the card fuel.
If you put your smoker down for more than a minute it's gone out.
Hessian will keep burning as long as the smokers upright.
Put it in its side when you finish, & it will go out.
jamanda

I use wood shavings and a bit of newspaper to get it going. It has never gone out before I was ready. I was told cardboard burns too hot.
Tavascarow

is pufferating a means of cataloguing steam locomotives?
Laughing
Boris

Well, I am using the cardboard stuff from Thornes, Ive even tried cutting it in half, it just goes out!! I am putting newspaper/dried grass in first. try to get it going, start with loads of smoke, close the lid, puff like hell and as soon as I put it down for a second or even before!) it goes out! I almost spend more time trying to keep the smoker going than I do looking after the bees! Mad
Boris