Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Foraging
nerion

Woodland plants - identification please!

Hi folks, newbie here. I've only been foraging twice but really enjoy it and have already eaten lovely stinging nettles, dandelion and wood sorrel.

I've also made the common sorrel/cuckoopint mistake and won't be doing that again. Embarassed

Anyway, on my last forrage in the woods, I saw a few plants I didn't recognise and wonder if someone could tell me their names - and if they're edible please.

I think the second picture may be cow parsley but I realise this can be mixed up with fools' parsley and hemlock. What are the best ways to differentiate?

Many thanks,

Andy

sally_in_wales

top one lesser celandine, bottom dogs mercury I think
jamanda

The first one is celandine. It will have pretty little yellow flowers soon. ( It's also called pilewort)
nerion

Flipping heck, that was quick! Thank you! Keep 'em coming. Very Happy
jamanda

The middle one could be cow parsley or it might not - not one to eat!

Any way, welcome to the forum Very Happy

eta you might find these interesting

http://www.downsizer.net/Projects/Finding_food/Top_Ten_Wild_Foods_in_March/

http://www.downsizer.net/Projects/Finding_food/Top_Ten_Wild_Foods_for_April/
Minamoo

Flipping heck, that was quick! Thank you! Keep 'em coming. Very Happy

Hello!

Good to see another person getting hooked by the foraging bug! The most important thing for you to do now before you go out and start picking things with the intention of eating is to invest in a good guide book. I've found that the river cottage series is amazing for beginners (I have 'Mushrooms', 'Hedgerow' and 'Edible Seashore' and love them). Foraging can be very dangerous if you're not careful. So a good guide book (preferably more than one as plants can look slightly different depending on their habitat) is a must.