Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Small Business Questions, Ideas and Advice
feathersandfibre

Working with schools

So we are looking at developing a business that will enable us to live 'the good life' instead of what we are doing now. We will be upsizing when we find the right property so we will be increasing our mortgage and will need to make a viable business. I am currently a primary school teacher so I am looking at how I can utilise this. As I have experience with poultry a chick hatching scheme and support package for schools wanting to keep hatched chicks or buy chickens in is an obvious enterprise along with selling eggs and pol hens more generally. I am in the process of costing some of this out.

I was just wondering whether anyone was doing a similar thing in a different area or whether anyone was running any other successful schemes with schools. I have a few other ideas whizzing around my head but am interested to find out what is out there.
Pilsbury

I have mentioned this before but in the nursing home I worked in there was a company who would drop off a 12 egg incubator full of eggs thst were a few days from hatching and leave it set up next to a plastic crate turned into a little pen with a lightbulb, drinker and chick crumb, the eggs would hatch and the chicks stayed in the nursing home for a couple of weeks and were then collected and they charged £250 for this, the home kept no chicks, there was no involvement from the staff unless there was a phone question....
might be worth a look
feathersandfibre

Yes, thanks. That's the sort of thing I have in mind, but from a school point of view I can also produce and provide a range of teaching resources at a primary level and potentially deliver a session in school. £200-£250 seems to be the going rate from what I can tell and I can only find one place that does this anywhere locally.
Nick