|
|
 |
Author |
|
| Message |  |
|
VSS
Joined: 14 Jan 2007 Posts: 2368 Location: Llyn Peninsula, North Wales
|
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 07 1:06 pm Post subject: domain names |
|
I had an email today, regarding domain names very similar to one that of a website i manage as part of a work contract www.welsh-sheep.org
I have copied the email below.
Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in China, which mainly deal with international company's in china. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the Oct 23, 2007, we received an application formally. One company named "Mobackre International Holdings Ltd" wanted to register following Domain names:
welsh-sheep.com.cn
welsh-sheep.net.cn
welsh-sheep.name
welsh-sheep.com
welsh-sheep.biz
welsh-sheep.hk
welsh-sheep.tw
welsh-sheep.cn
welsh-sheep.cc
Internet brand keyword:
welsh-sheep
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Mobackre company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Michael Peng
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sponsoring Registrar: China Net Technology Limited
Tel:+852-3059 3057
Fax:+852-3059 3089
Email: Michael@netinchina.hk
Web: http://www.netinchina.hk
Does anyone know what this is all about? Should i just ignore it? |
|
|
|
 |
Northern_Lad
Joined: 13 Dec 2004 Posts: 14120 Location: Somewhere
|
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 07 1:11 pm Post subject: Re: domain names |
|
| VSS wrote: |
| Does anyone know what this is all about? Should i just ignore it? |
File it, and ignore it.
as long as you can show you had the name before they even thought of wanting it, and have a use for it, it's yours.
I'm not entirely sure what it's asking anyway... |
|
|
|
 |
RichardW
Joined: 24 Aug 2006 Posts: 6096 Location: Llyn Peninsular North Wales
|
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 07 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
ignore it. They are trying to get you to buy them up to protect them.
Justme |
|
|
|
 |
sally_in_wales Downsizer Moderator
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 14865 Location: sunny wales
|
Posted: Wed Oct 24, 07 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
I had the same email but keyed to my trading name  |
|
|
|
 |
rzapper
Joined: 25 Oct 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 07 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
| Justme wrote: |
ignore it. They are trying to get you to buy them up to protect them.
Justme |
I don't understand. Who is trying to get bought up for protection--Mobackre or China Net Technology?
China Net Technology, based on a Google search, appears to be a legit domain registrar. Mobackre's one hit lists this forum. |
|
|
|
 |
MarkS
Joined: 01 Aug 2006 Posts: 2581
|
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 07 7:32 pm Post subject: |
|
I suspect they want to flog VSS all those other domains.
I've never come across a registrar that does that level of checking when they have a customer in front of them trying to buy stuff.
The other possibility is a spammer creating a mailing list. |
|
|
|
 |
scott.g
Joined: 25 Oct 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Oct 25, 07 8:03 pm Post subject: |
|
Yep I had the exact same canned mail from 10-23, down to the commas quotes and bizzare English translation. I have received an almost exact email about 6 months ago, ignored it at the time. I figure it is spam trying to get calls to secure the excess domain names at a very high price. $$$$$
Thanks, Scott |
|
|
|
 |
earthyvirgo
Joined: 24 Aug 2007 Posts: 2695 Location: in the loft, Gerlan
|
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 07 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
Scam - ignore it.
A customer of ours called us for advice today having received the same email (and tel call)
If you want to purchase those domains, and they actually are available, do it through the company you would normally use ... and pay a whole heap less.
I noticed you are on the Llyn? - I am in Bangor, (WiSS Ltd - does that count as self-promotion?, sorry if it's not allowed) - happy to elaborate if you need further advice.
EV |
|
|
|
 |
RichardW
Joined: 24 Aug 2006 Posts: 6096 Location: Llyn Peninsular North Wales
|
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 07 4:00 pm Post subject: |
|
| earthyvirgo wrote: |
Scam - ignore it.
I noticed you are on the Llyn? - I am in Bangor, (WiSS Ltd - does that count as self-promotion?, sorry if it's not allowed) - happy to elaborate if you need further advice.
EV |
Hands off MY clients LOL
Justme |
|
|
|
 |
earthyvirgo
Joined: 24 Aug 2007 Posts: 2695 Location: in the loft, Gerlan
|
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 07 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
Sorry, no stealth or stealing intended - just hate seeing people being subjected to scam.
EV  |
|
|
|
 |
RichardW
Joined: 24 Aug 2006 Posts: 6096 Location: Llyn Peninsular North Wales
|
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 07 5:09 pm Post subject: |
|
| earthyvirgo wrote: |
Sorry, no stealth or stealing intended - just hate seeing people being subjected to scam.
EV  |
Me too.
Justme |
|
|
|
 |
Blue Sky
Joined: 30 Jan 2005 Posts: 7415 Location: France
|
Posted: Fri Oct 26, 07 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
Yep ignore it, unless you particularly would like to own any of those domain names listed in which case I would check the availability with a third party registrar.
I used to get loads of similar emails when I owned safetysignsdirect.com/net/co.uk/etc |
|
|
|
 |
freewheelin
Joined: 27 Oct 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sat Oct 27, 07 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
Just had the same type of email from a steven.hong. Thanks for advice and experience. |
|
|
|
 |
JJ
Joined: 02 Nov 2007 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 07 5:54 pm Post subject: domain names |
|
Same message, different signature - mine came from Diana Cheng.
However, the "Companies accredited as registrars by ICANN and currently operational" does not include China Net Technology Limited
and a "whois" for Domain Name: netinchina.org.cn (the reply address) returns:
Registration Date: 2007-08-27 15:22
Expiration Date: 2008-08-27 15:22
Looks like spam to me. |
|
|
|
 |
Blue Sky
Joined: 30 Jan 2005 Posts: 7415 Location: France
|
Posted: Fri Nov 02, 07 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
If you are in the UK I can highly recommend www.123-reg.co.uk as a domain name registrar. I have probably said this before but I have had many trouble-free years with them. |
|
|
|
 |
|