links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Utility breed ?
Page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 09 6:54 am    Post subject: Utility breed ? Reply with quote

What do you understand by the term 'utility' when its applied to a chicken and which traits would you expect it to have ?

Modern hybrid chickens are designed to produce hundreds of eggs, are they utility chickens ?

Brownbear

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 09 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surely anything bar a pet or show bird would be a utility chicken.

goosey

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 09 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pass, bodger. Not being a poultry expert, I don't know what the official definition is.
But for me, utility means 'practical', or 'useful'. That is, a bird which is inherently healthy, with no weird shapes or fashion deformaties getting in the way. One that is dual purpose I suppose. But I could want one with a slight accent on eggs, or there again, for table if thats what I want at the time. Nothing too extreem or unatural.
Also I would want one that can hatch it's own eggs.
This year has been disastrous, but they are nice pets

Bodger

PostPosted: Sun Jul 12, 09 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that dual purpose could be one of the traits suggested by the term utility but there are other aspects to consider.
For example, when leghorns first came to the country they were the top laying birds of their era and were kept by farmers commercially. When they went out of favour, presumably because some better layers came a long, their number dropped. The leghorn then fell into the hands of poultry fanciers who selected for looks rather than performance. Thanks to the fancier we still have them but not in the form that they were once in.