Home Page
   Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Which breed of pig would you favour for beginners?
Page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Author 

Location: The Fishing Strumpet is from Ceredigion in West Wales
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 06 12:25 pm    Post subject: Which breed of pig would you favour for beginners? Reply with quote

We're wanting to purchase a couple of weaners in the next few weeks. As complete novices to the 'pig game' we're not sure which breed to go for, although Gervase favours traditional breeds like the Gloucester Old Spot. We've read all the available info and asked around, but we'd be interested if any of you could recommend a particular favourite breed and why. I quite like the idea of Large Blacks which I gather are Welsh in origin and an old breed.

All thoughts or advice gratefully received.

Jonnyboy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 06 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the same position as you, most of my research has pointed me towards tamworths as a good first time pig.

judith

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 06 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

We have reared two sets of weaners - the first pair were Tamworth x OSB and the second were Old Spots.
The Old Spots were very laid-back and docile and generally stayed put in their enclosure. The Tamworth/OSB were a lot more sparky and interested in what was going on, but managed to commando roll through the electric fence quite a few times.

In terms of eating qualities, the Tamworth/OSBs were very fatty (on the cusp of being too fat), but the flavour of the meat was superb - almost gamey - and the crackling was the best I have ever eaten. The GOS were a lot leaner, but the meat is much milder. Very nice, but not as special as the first pair.

That is about the sum of my advice and knowledge so far.

Mary-Jane

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 06 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jonnyboy wrote: