Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Geese Behaviour

Author 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 09 7:41 pm    Post subject: Geese Behaviour Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new to keeping geese and have recently acquired two young geese. (goslings) I have searched everywhere to try to find out info on young geese behaviour and cannot find anything. Everything talks about housing, feeding, care, etc but nothing out there on peoples experiences of their growing geese. The only thing I can find is info when the breeding season starts.

In my case I am trying to ascertain whether the geese are happy with me or displaying aggression. They were subdued the first couple of days when they arrived and now seem generally relaxed and are feeding well, etc. When I enter the pen they come rushing over talking (as I call it) and follow me wherever I go. They sort of fly over to me. More lately they have been trying to get up very close to my legs and one sometimes checks my trousers out. Now this is where I need help, is this a sign of of them getting funny with me or are they just checking me out? I handle them and pick them up etc and they don't bite.

I'm sorry if this sounds noddy but I've kept chickens before but never geese so they are really new to me so any behaviour experiences would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks.

SandraR

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 09 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like perfectly happy gosling behaviour to me. As long as you continue to handle them and put them in their place if they start to get a little too friendly. i.e if they start to peck a little too hard or continue when you have had enough just gently but firmly push them away.

They sound lovely enjoy.

pookie

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 09 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep! what GSHP said

TheGrange

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 09 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote