Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Downsizing to a caravan?
Page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Downsizer Forum Index -> Finance and Property
Author 

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 05 12:26 pm    Post subject: Downsizing to a caravan? Reply with quote

Hi All, I'm a newbie to this group, found you after searching on Google.

My partner and I are planning to move to Spain in a few years, when we can both speak Spanish reasonably well. I like the idea of a rural finca with fruit trees (olives and oranges seem popular in the South), but having been to Andalucia in May it will probably be too hot, so we are also considering the Costa Verde in northern Spain. At the moment we live and work in Cardiff.

In the meantime, we are considering downsizing options, and recently found holiday homes for sale at Lavernock Point . Whilst these look big enough to live in, the site does make a point of saying that they are not suitable for permanent residence, partly because the site closes for a few months during the winter, but mainly because of the planning permission originally granted for the site.

Does anyone know how feasible it will be for us to downsize to a static caravan or small "holiday home"? Does anyone know of sites that allow permanent occupants, where the site does not close down, or should we consider buying/leasing/renting a plot of land, with services available, to install a static caravan? We are looking to do this in the UK (ideally near enough to Cardiff to continue working here) to reduce outgoing costs and start saving up, prior to emigrating.

tahir

PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 05 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't help with the caravan side of things but have you looked at Northern Portugal? Not too hot in the summer, cheap, lovely people etc. Not too hard to get by in portuguese either if you've got basic spanish.

michael