links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
Killing your own animals for meat at home
Page 1, 2, 3  Next

Author 

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 12 8:54 pm    Post subject: Killing your own animals for meat at home Reply with quote

I am emotionally struggling with regularly killing my own poultry for meat. I have been doing it (broomstick method) for around 18 months now and I thought I would get used to it. I enjoy eating meat, and we have had pigs (the neighbours killed those) rabbits, ducks, geese chickens and tomorrow my 4 turkeys are to be slaughtered by me, with a mate to assist, which I have grown very fond of. I am dreading it and am not sleeping well.

Once it is done I know I will be relieved and OK, cleaning and plucking is fine, it is just the act of ending a life, looking into their faces (they trust me) and doing it. The method is not an issue, it works for me, they are free range, have the best of food and shelter, have acres to roam in so why do I feel like this? I like to follow permaculture principles where I can so the birds eat pests, I need the manure for the veggies, it all makes sense to eat the excess males. Does anyone else struggle? Does it get better? Does anything help?

Bungo

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 12 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Only kill chickens,sheep go to abatoir , and I cannot say I get pleasure from it and I try and give them the best life possible while there alive , and enjoy their company . But , at the end of the day , the reason we have them is for meat,and I love eating them .Certainly don't loose any sleep over it .

perlogalism

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 12 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bungo wrote: