Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Foraging
Barefoot Andrew

Barefoot forage

I'm looking forward to going out on my first ever forage soon! I'm a complete beginner in such things - you could say I'm green at it (but that would be a tedious gag) - so I shall be reading all the bits and pieces here by Cab et al, and I also have the Richard Mabey Food for Free book.
A.
cab

Re: Barefoot forage

Good luck Smile
woodsprite

Wear some shoes Barefoot!!! Foraging can be a bit prickly Laughing Laughing
Good luck
Behemoth

Sensible boots, robust clothing and a friendly stick. Have fun.
Mrs Fiddlesticks

Behemoth wrote:
Sensible boots, robust clothing and a friendly stick. Have fun.

and a downsizer bag for the spoils surely Smile
jp

And a few quid to go to the pub afterwards...?
Barefoot Andrew

Hmm, I'm rubbish at foraging.

Had a nice walk yesterday afternoon, but I was too busy soaking up the whole shebang - the sound of the birdsong, smell of the sweet air, lovely countryside, the feel of the sun on my face and the path underfoot - in other words, not concentrating on the looking at and looking for of plants at all. Oh well... maybe next time.
A.
Barefoot Andrew

And another thing...

If one's "foraging route" is a popular one, one has to forage above the dog wee zone Smile

A.
sean

Higher than that if it's a popular route home from the pub.
Barefoot Andrew

sean wrote:
Higher than that if it's a popular route home from the pub.

I'm charmed Smile
A.
cab

Barefoot Andrew wrote:
Hmm, I'm rubbish at foraging.

Had a nice walk yesterday afternoon, but I was too busy soaking up the whole shebang - the sound of the birdsong, smell of the sweet air, lovely countryside, the feel of the sun on my face and the path underfoot - in other words, not concentrating on the looking at and looking for of plants at all. Oh well... maybe next time.
A.

See, thats the best part of it!