Archive for Downsizer For an ethical approach to consumption

Downsizer Forum Index -> Energy Efficiency and Construction/Major Projects
RichardW

New low energy kettle

Amazingly, the outside temperature is low but it still works. It is made up of" disco-ball" reflective panels stuck onto a hand-moulded curved concrete base.

wellington womble

Goodness me. I wonder if you could make some kind of portable version to take camping? Maybe an emergency blanket would suffice, and save on the gas stove for tea in the morning.

Is the contruction important - does it have to be an exact special curve with the kettle in the right bit, or can you just guess? I'm not very good at exact.......
RichardW

I think it would work better if it was focused, but due to the size of the kettle not to focused. Like a sat dish focuses on to the reciever.
They are avaliable off the shelf for camping.

here
here too
or DIY

LOTS HERE

Justme
wellington womble

What a good idea. Grenwich, don't tell Mr Grenwich - I think I may have found that thank you present I owe him!
dpack

i have seen a portable version , folding reflector, double skin vacuum flask ,coated for energy in but no energy out .about 1 kg
boiled 5oo ml water in 20 mins in sun
not as convienient as putting the pot over a few burning twigs given my local climate .ace for sunny places . the method would be useful for a solar still more than to brew up inho
James

dpack wrote:
the method would be useful for a solar still more than to brew up inho

I think this is where this technology will really take off: large solar stills for de-salination and smaller ones for domestic energy production.

I've been trying to figure out an energy efficient, low-tech way of capturing and storing solar, but there's always the bottle neck of concentrating down the energy.