Articles
       links
About Us    
Traders        
Recipes            
Latest Articles
How and when?

Author 

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 10 3:56 pm    Post subject: How and when? Reply with quote

Unfortunately we have to knock our house down. We think that this will happen in July or August depending on the vagaries of Italian bureaucracy. I don't see it being any earlier. The thing is, we have bees living in the wall of the oldest part, stone, about 3 feet thick. I have no experience of bee keeping but would love to start, and intend to learn about top bar beekeeping. So given that I have between now and the summer to learn, the question is, when would be the best time to coax them out and how do you go about it. If worst comes to worst I would just like them to move out before the time comes to demolish the house, regardless of wether we get to keep them or not. Cheers

oliver90owner

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 10 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The answer? Unfortunately, probably with great difficulty. If they have been there some time, they may well have a huge mass of stock-piled stores.

The best way is likely to remove them at the time of demolition, by finding the actual position and removing the comb into a new home.

Regards, RAB

mochasidamo

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 10 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Surely the way most likely to work would be to set up a bait hive to catch a swarm. The lure here is £6 for two vials on ebay. If it's a strong colony then swarm they probably will?

Knocking down your house sounds awful.

Trisha

joanne

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 10 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bait hives will catch any swarms from them but not the colony itself - that will need human interaction - You really need to take down the wall by hand and take the bees out and rehome them that way - Are there no Italian Beekeepers about willing to help?

vegplot

PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 10 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote